About the Nebraska Sex Offender Registry
Nebraska State Statute 29-4002 declares that sex offenders present a high risk to commit repeat offenses and that efforts of law enforcement agencies to protect their communities, conduct investigations, and quickly apprehend sex offenders are impaired by the lack of available information about individuals who have pleaded guilty to or have been found guilty of sex offenses and who live in their jurisdiction. Because of that, the legislature determined that state policy should assist efforts of local law enforcement agencies to protect their communities by requiring sex offenders to register with local law enforcement agencies as provided by the Sex Offender Registration Act.
This information is to be used to provide public notice and information about a registrant so a community can develop constructive plans to prepare themselves and their family. Sex Offenders have "always" been in our communities. The notification process will remove their ability to act secretly.
Sex offender registry information shall not be used to retaliate against the registrants, their families, or their employers in any way. Vandalism, verbal, or written threats of harm are illegal and will result in arrest and prosecution.
Sex Offender Registration Law effective Jan 1, 2010
May 29, 2009, the Nebraska legislature passed LB285 which amended the Nebraska Sex Offender Registration Act in an attempt to become compliant with the Adam Walsh Act.
All offenders will be required to register in 3 days at a Nebraska State Patrol location or designated law enforcement agency with AFIS (automated fingerprint systems) or prior to release from incarceration (local or state). In addition to the current registration data collected, the required information will also include:
- ALL addresses that he or she lives or frequents
- All employment locations
- All school information
- All telephone/cell phone numbers
- All vehicles owned and/or operated by the offender
- All Motor vehicle operator license or state identification
- Name changes by providing legal documentation (marriage certificate or court document only)
- Travel & immigration documents
- Professional licensees or certificates
- DNA sample
- Palm prints in addition to fingerprints
- Photo or updated photo
- Physical descriptors (scars, marks, tattoos, piercings, etc.)
All registration changes will take place in person at the sheriffs’ offices. The offender must report any change in residence/temporary residence, employment, or school in person on an approved form (NSP792).
Providing false information or failing to report a change within the allotted time frame, may constitute a felony offense.
Under the old law, offenders had to register for 10 years or life. The registration duration period will change to 15 years, 25 years or life as follows under the new law effective January 1, 2010, and those changes will apply to all sex offenders currently registered and those who were previously registered:
- Fifteen years, if the sex offender was convicted of a registrable offense under section 29-4003 not punishable by imprisonment for more than one year; (i.e., primarily misdemeanor offenses)
- Twenty-five years, if the sex offender was convicted of a registrable offense under section 29-4003 punishable by imprisonment for more than one year; or (i.e., primarily non-aggravated felony offenses including attempt/conspiracy)
- Life, if the sex offender was convicted of a registrable offense under section 29-4003 punishable by imprisonment for more than one year and was convicted of an aggravated offense or had a prior sex offense conviction or has been determined to be a lifetime registrant in another state, territory, commonwealth, or other jurisdiction of the United States, by the United States Government, by court-martial or other military tribunal, or by a foreign jurisdiction. (i.e., primarily aggravated felony offenses = force/drugged victim/disabled victim/victim <13, including attempt/conspiracy; felony or misdemeanor repeat offenders)
The verification schedule will be determined by the registration duration time. Letters will be mailed to each registered offender (or prior registered offender) to advise of their verification schedule.
- 15 years: Required to report for verification annually in person at the sheriff's office in the month of the offender’s date of birth.
- 25 years: Required to report for verification bi-annually in person at the sheriff's office in the month of the offender’s date of birth & six months following.
- Lifetime: Required to report for verification quarterly in person at the sheriff's office in the month of the offender’s date of birth and every three months thereafter.
Community Notification Process
The new law will post ALL REGISTERED SEX OFFENDERS. The classification or "risk levels" will no longer be used and all registered sex offenders will be categorized by registration duration. Any person or agency may subscribe to a particular sex offender or choose to receive notifications by region or location under the Search tab.
Any person required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act who violates the act is guilty of a Class IIIA felony. Any person required to register under the act who violates the act and who has previously been convicted of a violation of the act is guilty of a Class IIA felony and shall be sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of at least one year in prison unless the violation which caused the person to be placed on the registry was a misdemeanor, in which case the violation of the act shall be a Class IIIA felony.
Any law enforcement agency with jurisdiction in the area in which a person required to register under the act resides, has a temporary domicile, maintains a habitual living location, is employed, carries on a vocation, or attends school shall investigate and enforce violations of the act.
Registration data to be transmitted via SOR/LE
As of January 2013, registering agencies must now submit registration data online. The designated registration form may be used for registration, changes, and verifications if the SOR portal is not available. All registrations, changes and verifications must be completed in a manner prescribed by the Nebraska State Patrol and submitted on the same day the offender reported in person at the sheriff’s office.
All registration forms, including all the Notification of Registration Responsibilities Under Nebraska Sex Offender Registration Act forms, have been updated and will be posted on the SOR Private/law enforcement web site.